Disclosure: TherapyExams is our product

This comparison is published by TherapyExams, which is one of the products compared. We don't use affiliate links and aren't paid by any company listed. Every price, question count and access period was checked on the company's own website on September 30, 2026. Prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. We've compared features and prices, not question quality; we haven't audited anyone's questions but our own.

"Which NPTE prep should I buy?" is one of the most common questions in PT school group chats, and most of the answers online come from companies recommending themselves. We're a company too, so here's the next best thing: the facts on ten options side by side, each with a link to the vendor's own page, and a plain account of where each one, including ours, is strong and where it isn't.

What's the best NPTE prep app?

There isn't one best NPTE prep app for everyone. Scorebuilders' PT Basecamp has the most questions (6,000) and 80 hours of video. TrueLearn's SmartBank adds national benchmarking. PT Final Exam sells six full practice exams. Pocket Prep is the cheapest to try month to month. TherapyExams bundles 5,700+ questions, flashcards and mnemonics for a one-time $79. FSBPT's PEAT is the only option with a retired NPTE form.

NPTE prep options compared

NPTE-PT prep options, prices checked on each vendor's site on September 30, 2026
ProductTypePriceAccessQuestions / exams (as stated)Free option
TherapyExams (ours)App: iOS, Android, web$79 one-time6 months5,700+ questions; 2 full exams (225 Q); 400+ flashcards and 400+ mnemonics7-day trial, no card
FSBPT PEATOfficial web practice exams$9990 days or until you pass2 timed exams: 1 retired NPTE form + 1 practice form, with an estimated NPTE scoreFree NPTE Demonstration Exam
Scorebuilders PT BasecampWeb platform + app$69 / $99 / $14930 days / 365 days / lifetime6,000 questions; 3,000 flash cards; 80 hours of video–
TrueLearn NPTE SmartBankQuestion bank: web + app$169 / $189 / $209 / $23930 / 90 / 180 / 365 days1,900+ questions; 225-Q assessment exam is a $40 add-on5-day trial of sample questions
Pocket PrepApp: iOS, Android, web$15.99 / $39.99 / $95.991 / 3 / 12 months1,300 questions; mock exam50 questions free
PT Final Exam practice examsWeb exam simulator$99 / $1496 / 12 months6 full practice exams (1,350 questions)Free question archive
TherapyEd PT Study PackApp: iOS, Android$49.9912 months600 questions, AI Learning Assistant–
TherapyEd Review & Study GuideBook (print or eBook)$99–675 questions; 3 full online exams (225 Q)–
NPTE Final Frontier Independent Study BundleRecorded course$2999 months (FAQ says 1 year)Two 250-question practice exams; lecture recordingsFree resources page
Mometrix NPTE & NPTAE SecretsBook (eBook or print)$69.99 / $74.99–Practice questions (count not stated); covers PT and PTA1-year money-back guarantee
PractitionrAI-adaptive web platform$475/year (its FAQ says $495)12 monthsUnlimited full-length simulations (question count not stated)Free trial, no card

Question counts are each company's own figures, and companies count differently: some include questions from full practice exams, and some don't. Where a site showed a discount, the table shows the price we saw. TherapyEd's app and bundle were marked down from $99.99 and $198.99. Links to every vendor page are in the sources at the end.

How we compared them

We compared only what can be checked: price, access length, the number of questions and full-length exams each company states, format, and whether you can try it free. We didn't rate question quality, because we can't audit other companies' questions fairly. For that, read recent reviews from students, and use each product's free trial or sample before paying.

Whatever you choose, how you use it matters more than which one it is. Practice testing and spaced practice are the two study techniques with the strongest research support (Dunlosky et al., 2013). Our guide to using practice questions shows how to get the most from any question bank.

Each option, and who it suits

TherapyExams (ours): questions, flashcards and mnemonics in one app

What you get: 5,700+ NPTE-style questions with explanations, two full-length 225-question practice exams, 400+ flashcards with spaced repetition, 400+ mnemonics, a study guide, SMART goals and progress tracking by FSBPT content area, on iOS, Android and the web. $79 one-time for six months, with a 7-day free trial and no card needed.

Where others do better: we don't have video lessons (Scorebuilders has 80 hours) or live instruction (NPTE Final Frontier, PT Final Exam). We have two full practice exams, where PT Final Exam sells six. We don't offer national benchmarking like TrueLearn. We don't cover the PTA exam yet (PTA prep is launching soon). And we can't give you a retired NPTE form; only FSBPT can.

Suits: students who want a large question bank plus memory tools in one place, at a single price.

FSBPT PEAT: the only official practice exam

FSBPT's Practice Exam and Assessment Tool costs $99 for 90 days, or until you pass. It includes two timed exams: a retired NPTE form that gives "an estimated NPTE score based on previously used items," and a practice form linked to the NPTE scale. Each can be taken once. It's a checkpoint rather than a study tool, and it's the only product here written and scored by the organization that makes the NPTE.

Suits: almost everyone, two to three weeks before the exam, alongside a question bank.

Scorebuilders PT Basecamp: the most questions and video

PT Basecamp lists 6,000 multiple-choice questions with explanations, 3,000 flash cards and 140 videos (80 hours), organized as "Mountains" and "Trails" by system, with an app. It costs $69 for 30 days, $99 for a year or $149 for lifetime access. Scorebuilders also sells the PTEXAM study guide ($99), Online Advantage practice exams ($40 each or $60 for two), and the ACE self-paced course ($325, 120 days).

Suits: students who want the largest bank plus video content, and who like a gamified structure.

TrueLearn NPTE SmartBank: benchmarking against other candidates

TrueLearn's SmartBank lists 1,900+ NPTE-PT questions, including scenario and video items, with "real-time national benchmarking" and flashcards. It's priced higher than the other question banks here: $169 for 30 days, rising to $239 for a year. A 225-question assessment exam costs $40 extra. The 90-day and longer plans list a pass guarantee.

Suits: students who want to see how their scores compare with other candidates, and who prefer a pure question bank.

Pocket Prep: cheapest to start, monthly

Pocket Prep's NPTE-PT bank has 1,300 questions across 14 subjects, several quick-quiz modes and a mock exam, for $15.99 a month, $39.99 for three months or $95.99 for a year. You can try 50 questions free. If you don't pass, it gives three extra months of Premium.

Suits: short bursts of study on your phone, and anyone who wants to start cheaply.

PT Final Exam: six full-length exams

PT Final Exam's exam simulator includes six full practice exams (1,350 questions, in 5 sections of 45) for $99 for six months or $149 for twelve. PT Final Exam also sells an Independent Study Course ($299–$349, 12 months) and a live VIP review course ($997), and publishes a free question archive.

Suits: students who have done their content review and want lots of full-length timed practice.

TherapyEd: a long-established review book, plus an app

TherapyEd's O'Sullivan and Siegelman Review & Study Guide, which TherapyEd says has been published for more than 25 years, costs $99 and includes 675 questions and three full online exams. Its PT Study Pack app adds 600 more questions with an AI Learning Assistant ($49.99 for 12 months), and the two come together as a bundle for $148.99. TherapyEd also runs a prep course ($350 including the book).

Suits: students who learn best from a structured textbook review.

NPTE Final Frontier: live and recorded courses

The Independent Study Bundle ($299) includes lecture recordings, an 11-week study course and two 250-question practice exams. The Full Live Course ($599) adds live online classes three times a week, three 250-question exams, two 50-question mini exams, and a review of your practice-exam reports. The product pages list nine months of access; the site's FAQ says one year.

Suits: students who want scheduled live teaching and accountability.

Mometrix: a low-cost book covering PT and PTA

NPTE & NPTAE Secrets costs $69.99 as an eBook or $74.99 in print, covers both the PT and PTA exams, and comes with a one-year money-back guarantee. Its product page doesn't state how many practice questions it includes.

Suits: a budget reference book alongside a question bank.

Practitionr: AI-adaptive study plan

Practitionr is an AI-driven platform, sold at what its pricing page calls early-access pricing, that builds a daily plan from your errors, with unlimited full-length simulations. Its pricing page shows $475 for a year as an early-access price, while the FAQ on the same page says $495. Its guarantee refunds you if its readiness score says you're ready and you don't pass. It doesn't state a question count.

Suits: students who want the software to decide what to study each day.

Live and self-paced NPTE courses compared

CourseFormatPriceAccess
Scorebuilders ACESelf-paced$325120 days
TherapyEd Prep CourseCourse, includes Study Guide$350 ($265 without Guide)–
PT Final Exam Independent StudySelf-paced$299–$34912 months
NPTE Final Frontier Full Live CourseLive classes 3x/week$5999 months (FAQ: 1 year)
PT Final Exam VIP(T) Live ReviewLive coaching$99712 months

How to choose

  • Start free. Take our free 50-question NPTE practice test, Pocket Prep's 50 free questions, or TrueLearn's sample, and see which question style and interface you actually like.
  • Match the product to your gap. Weak content knowledge calls for a book, videos or a course. Solid content but weak application calls for a large question bank. If stamina and pacing are the issue, buy full-length exams.
  • Match access to your timeline. Most people study for 8–12 weeks (see our study plans), so a 30-day plan may not be enough, and lifetime access may be more than you need.
  • Add PEAT near the end. Whatever else you use, FSBPT's PEAT is the only practice exam built from a retired NPTE form.
  • Read guarantee terms closely. "Pass guarantees" range from extra access time to a refund conditional on the product's readiness score.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best NPTE prep app?

It depends on what you need. By each company's own figures, Scorebuilders' PT Basecamp has the most questions (6,000), TrueLearn adds national benchmarking, Pocket Prep is cheapest month to month, PT Final Exam offers six full practice exams, and TherapyExams bundles 5,700+ questions with flashcards and mnemonics for $79 one-time. FSBPT's PEAT is the only one with a retired NPTE form.

How much does NPTE prep cost?

Among the options we checked on September 30, 2026, apps and question banks ranged from $15.99 for a month (Pocket Prep) to $239 for a year (TrueLearn). The AI platform Practitionr lists $475–$495 a year. Books were $69.99–$99, and courses $265–$997. The FSBPT PEAT is $99.

Is PEAT worth it for the NPTE?

PEAT is the only practice product made by FSBPT, and its retired NPTE form gives an estimated NPTE score. At $99 for two exams, many candidates use it as a final checkpoint two to three weeks before test day, in addition to a question bank.

Do I need a prep course to pass the NPTE?

No. Most US-educated candidates pass on their first attempt (85% in 2025, according to FSBPT). Courses help if you want structure, live teaching or accountability; many students do well with a question bank, a study plan and a full-length practice exam.

Is this comparison biased?

We make one of the products, so read it with that in mind. We've limited the comparison to facts you can check on each company's own site, linked every source, and listed where competitors offer things we don't.

Try TherapyExams free for 7 days

5,700+ NPTE-style questions, 400+ flashcards and mnemonics, and two full-length practice exams. No credit card, then $79 one-time for six months if you decide it's for you.

Start Your Free 7-Day Trial →

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from the primary sources below, checked on September 30, 2026. If an official source changes, it overrides this page.

  1. Dunlosky J, Rawson KA, Marsh EJ, Nathan MJ, Willingham DT. Improving Students' Learning With Effective Learning Techniques. Psychological Science in the Public Interest. 2013;14(1):4–58 — SAGE / Association for Psychological Science
  2. PEAT (Practice Exam & Assessment Tool) (checked 2026-09-30) — FSBPT
  3. PT Basecamp (checked 2026-09-30) — Scorebuilders
  4. PTEXAM: The Complete Study Guide (checked 2026-09-30) — Scorebuilders
  5. PT Online Advantage – Student (checked 2026-09-30) — Scorebuilders
  6. PT ACE (A Competitive Edge) (checked 2026-09-30) — Scorebuilders
  7. NPTE SmartBank (checked 2026-09-30) — TrueLearn
  8. FSBPT NPTE-PT (Premium) (checked 2026-09-30) — Pocket Prep
  9. 6 Full NPTE Practice Exams (checked 2026-09-30) — PT Final Exam
  10. Independent Study Course (NPTE Mastery Bundle) (checked 2026-09-30) — PT Final Exam
  11. VIP(T) Live Online Review Course (checked 2026-09-30) — PT Final Exam
  12. NPTE Review & Study Guide (O'Sullivan & Siegelman) (checked 2026-09-30) — TherapyEd
  13. PT Study Pack (mobile app) (checked 2026-09-30) — TherapyEd
  14. NPTE Study Bundle (Guide + Study Pack) (checked 2026-09-30) — TherapyEd
  15. NPTE Prep Course (checked 2026-09-30) — TherapyEd
  16. Independent Study Bundle (checked 2026-09-30) — NPTE Final Frontier
  17. Full Live Course (checked 2026-09-30) — NPTE Final Frontier
  18. NPTE & NPTAE Secrets Study Guide (checked 2026-09-30) — Mometrix
  19. Complete Exam Prep (checked 2026-09-30) — Practitionr